Posted by: Marte Spangen | May 7, 2014

Half-time

The course in Rome included a daytrip to see the traditional transhumance roads in Lazio, here almost visible as a ford in the middle of the picture...

The course in Rome included a daytrip to see the traditional transhumance roads in Lazio, here (almost) visible as a ford in the middle of the picture…

As we entered May and the spring season, I also entered the last half of my time as a PhD student here at Stockholm University. Perhaps symptomatically, there has not been much time for blogging during the last five months or so. Instead I have written and submitted an article concerning my new theories about the “circular offering sites” that will hopefully be published within the year. I have also been involved in organizing the XIV Nordic Theoretical Archaeology Group meeting here in Stockholm, a conference running over five days, 22-25 April, with about 200 participants and 19 sessions. I would like to extend a somewhat belated thank you to all the participants in the session I arranged together with Tiina Äikäs and Anna-Kaisa Salmi on the topic of «Sámi archaeology and postcolonial theory». The aim was to discuss and rethink the use of this theoretical complex in Sami archaeology. With eight interesting papers and a total of about three hours of debate, I think we can call it a success.

In addition I have been busy covering some of the 60 study points (one year of full-time studies) PhD students in archaeology here at Stockholm University are expected to complete during our four years of project employment. This goal is partly achieved through PhD courses offered by the Nordic Graduate School in Archaeology: “Dialogues with the Past”. Hence I spent last week at the Swedish Institute in Rome, discussing “Outland use and upland landscapes”, with 16 other PhD students and five lecturers from various European countries. A big thank you to all of them for a very interesting and inspiring course.

My half-time milestone will be celebrated in about two weeks with the mandatory half-time seminar where I will present my results so far and what I plan to do in the second half of the project to the rest of the department. My plans include, among other things, a short additional survey in Varanger this summer, some more archive studies, place name studies, more GIS analyses, writing some articles and not least writing the monograph that will be the final result of this project. It’s a lot, but I am still optimistic, and, perhaps more importantly for the chance of completing the project sometime during 2016, I still think doing this work is great fun. In short, I look forward to the next half!


Leave a Reply

Categories

