Posted by: Marte Spangen | December 22, 2014

In exchange

This year´s Christmas greeting goes out from my hometown Løten in southern Norway, which is known, among other things, for its many Iron Age grave mounds.

This year´s Christmas greetings goes out from my hometown Løten in southern Norway, which is known, among other things, for its many Iron Age grave mounds.

The end of the year is approaching, and I would like to thank everyone who has followed the blog through the last 12 busy months of writing, conferences, courses, fieldwork, archive digging and a lot of traveling. I very much appreciate all the comments, questions and input I have had concerning the project and related issues, both here and in other contexts.

Hopefully this will continue in 2015, and as a meassure to achieve that, I will be trying out a new context after new-year: from 5 January you will find me at the Department of Archaeology, Conservation and History (IAKH) at the University of Oslo, where I will stay for six months as an Erasmus exchange student.

While Oslo is not unknown territory for me, I have never studied or worked at IAKH, so I look forward to be included in this interdisciplinary research environment and to be able to draw on all the knowledge my colleagues there have about archaeology and history in Norway. In addition, a lot of source material will be more readily available when I am based in Oslo. All in all, there will be no more excuses for not getting that monography done…

Before that, however, there will be time for a few days off in winter wonderland. With the photo above I wish you all a very merry Christmas and a happy new year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

